ingredient.help
Blue Buffalo

Wilderness Mature Chicken Recipe

Barcode 840243130634

Product identity

Made by Blue Buffalo — who makes it, and every recall on record.

Start with what we know about this exact pack, then open the full report for the decision, personal matches, and evidence.

Nobody here has read this pack yet. 2 more people holding this pack settle it. Scanning it while you log a meal is what does that.

The recipe has changed — most recently in October 2026 · calories +0.6%What changed

The maker's own product page printed the earlier list on August 29, 2026 and this one on October 13, 2026: the recipe changed between those dates.

Calories
  • 3,631 → 3,653 kcal/kg (+0.6%)
  • 420 → 422 kcal per cup

At an unchanged price, 1000 kcal of it costs 0.6% less than before.

Guaranteed analysis, as printed
 BeforeNowChange
Ascorbic Acid min100 mg/kgnot statedno longer stated
Ascorbic Acid (source of Vitamin C) minnot stated100 mg/kgnow stated
Per 100 kcal (approximate)
 BeforeNowChange
Protein10.5 g10.4 g−0.1 g
Fat3.9 g3.8 g−0.1 g
New on the list

Fish Meal (source of Omega 3 Fatty Acids) · Direct Dehydrated Alfalfa Pellets · Dried Sweet Potatoes

No longer on the list

Menhaden Fish Meal (source of Omega 3 Fatty Acids) · Dehydrated Alfalfa Meal · Sweet Potatoes · Dried Yeast · Dried Enterococcus faecium fermentation product · Dried Lactobacillus acidophilus fermentation product · Dried Aspergillus niger fermentation extract · Dried Trichoderma longibrachiatum fermentation extract · Dried Bacillus subtilis fermentation extract

Moved in the order
  • Fish Oil (source of DHA-Docosahexaenoic Acid) — now ahead of Potato Starch (line 12 → 11)
  • Potassium Chloride — now ahead of Flaxseed (source of Omega 6 Fatty Acids) (line 14 → 13)
  • Choline Chloride — now ahead of DL-Methionine (line 16 → 15)
  • Taurine — now ahead of Dried Chicory Root, Alfalfa Nutrient Concentrate and 1 more (line 22 → 19)
  • Potassium Sulfate — now ahead of Alfalfa Nutrient Concentrate, Calcium Carbonate and 3 more (line 26 → 21)

Compared with the reading we held before. The list is printed heaviest first, so a line that moves is a change in what the food is made of. The analysis figures are the pack's guarantees — minimums and maximums — and the water-free and per-100-kcal figures are worked out from them, so they are estimates. This says what changed, not whether it is better — the score is worked out from the current recipe.

Product DNA
bc9a6cc9
5
ingredients
matched to the catalog
4
additives
carrying an E-number
0
interactions
documented between them
0
flagged
we rate high concern
How well we know it74/100
  • Label read100%

    how much of the list we could place

  • Where it came from75%

    an open database, manufacturer label data via USDA, a shopper's photo, or our own reading

  • Checked by people0%

    independent confirmations that this is the product

Counted, not estimated. Nothing here is a judgement about the food — it is how confident we are that we read this label correctly.

Nothing from our pet hazard list
None of the ingredients on our pet hazard list (onion, garlic and others) is on this label. That is a check of the list, not of the food, and not an allergy check: it cannot see contamination, a manufacturing fault or a food that disagrees with your animal. Still read it yourself — this is a reading aid, not a substitute for the label or your vet.

Guaranteed analysis

Up to 9% of this pack is water. The other 91% or more is the dry matter (the food) — and that is what the right column divides up: protein, fat, fibre, ash and carbohydrate, as shares of it. The left column counts the water in, which is why nothing in it can be compared with another pack.

 On the packDry matter
38% min≈ 41.8%
14% min≈ 15.4%
5% max≈ 5.5%
9% max—
0.15% min—
DHA0.1% min—
Magnesium0.14% max—
Vitamin E300 IU/kg min—
Omega 3 Fatty Acids0.5% min—
Omega 6 Fatty Acids2.5% min—
Ascorbic Acid (source of Vitamin C)100 mg/kg min—
L-Carnitine100 mg/kg min—

Calories 3653 kcal/kg · 422 kcal a cup

These are guarantees, not measurements — minimums for protein and fat, maximums for fibre, moisture and ash. So ≈ marks a figure worked out from them rather than printed: close rather than exact. Read off the pack.

Ingredients, as printed

From the maker's and retailers' published label data, gathered by us (as of Oct 2026). Recipes change, so check it against the label in your hand.

Deboned Chicken, Chicken Meal, Pea Protein, Tapioca Starch, Peas, Fish Meal (source of Omega 3 Fatty Acids), Chicken Fat (preserved with Mixed Tocopherols), Pea Fiber, Natural Flavor, Dried Egg Product, Fish Oil (source of DHA-Docosahexaenoic Acid), Potato Starch, Potassium Chloride, Flaxseed (source of Omega 6 Fatty Acids), Choline Chloride, DL-Methionine, Direct Dehydrated Alfalfa Pellets, Potatoes, Taurine, Dried Chicory Root, Potassium Sulfate, Alfalfa Nutrient Concentrate, Calcium Carbonate, Vitamin E Supplement, Salt, preserved with Mixed Tocopherols, Dried Sweet Potatoes, Carrots, L-Ascorbyl-2-Polyphosphate (source of Vitamin C), L-Carnitine, Vegetable Juice for color, Ferrous Sulfate, Niacin (Vitamin B3), Iron Amino Acid Chelate, Zinc Amino Acid Chelate, Zinc Sulfate, Blueberries, Cranberries, Barley Grass, Parsley, Turmeric, Dried Kelp, Yucca Schidigera Extract, Copper Sulfate, Thiamine Mononitrate (Vitamin B1), Copper Amino Acid Chelate, L-Lysine, Biotin (Vitamin B7), Vitamin A Supplement, Manganese Sulfate, Manganese Amino Acid Chelate, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride (Vitamin B6), Calcium Pantothenate (Vitamin B5), Riboflavin (Vitamin B2), Vitamin D3 Supplement, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Folic Acid (Vitamin B9), Calcium Iodate, Sodium Selenite, Oil of Rosemary.

Educational tool only. Not medical, dietary, or veterinary advice.