Back to catalogSafety
E1442Modified starchLow concern
Hydroxypropyl Distarch Phosphate
In plain words
The short version
A doubly modified starch — hydroxypropylated and phosphate-crosslinked — used as a high-stability thickener.
Why it's green
It's widely considered safe at the amounts used in food, so we mark it green. The Safety section below has the details.
Safety profile
No ADI specified. Considered safe. EFSA notes that modified starches are not absorbed intact: they are significantly broken down by intestinal enzymes and then fermented by gut bacteria. Specifications limit residual propylene chlorohydrin to not more than 1 mg/kg in the EU (5 mg/kg in the US).
The detail
Produced by treating native starch with propylene oxide and a phosphate cross-linker (typically phosphorus oxychloride or sodium trimetaphosphate). The two modifications give exceptional stability to heat, acid, and shear.
Used in instant puddings, salad dressings, ketchup, gravies, and retorted ready meals. Withstands prolonged thermal processing without breakdown of texture. Among the most common modified starches in commercial sauces.
Off-white powder. Hydrates rapidly in cold and hot water to clear, viscous pastes. Exceptional process stability — does not break down under shear or prolonged heating.
Permitted in the EU and US. Specifications limit residual propylene chlorohydrin in both, and the EU specification also limits residual phosphate.
Sources
- EFSA — Re-evaluation of oxidised starch (E 1404) … hydroxypropyl distarch phosphate (E 1442) … as food additives, EFSA Journal 2017;15(10):4911, doi:10.2903/j.efsa.2017.4911 (full text on PubMed Central) — European Food Safety Authority (ANS Panel), 2017. ADI 'not specified'; digestion; EU propylene chlorohydrin limit 1 mg/kg
- WHO JECFA database — Hydroxypropyl distarch phosphate (INS 1442), ADI 'not specified' (82nd meeting, 2016) — WHO / Joint FAO/WHO Expert Committee on Food Additives, 2016. No ADI specified
- eCFR — 21 CFR 172.892 Food starch-modified — U.S. Food and Drug Administration / Office of the Federal Register, 2001. US: phosphorus oxychloride + propylene oxide treatment permitted; residual propylene chlorohydrin max 5 ppm
- EUR-Lex — Regulation (EC) No 1333/2008 on food additives, consolidated text of 18 August 2026 (Annex II, Group I) — European Union (Publications Office), 2026. EU: permitted at quantum satis
Checked against these sources on .
Educational information only. Not medical, dietary or veterinary advice. Spotted an error? Tell us.